Egeskov: Castle located 16 km northwest of Svendborg that belonged to the Skinkel family from 1405. Field Marshal Frands Brockenhuus took over ownership in 1545 and constructed the house, as we know it today. Construction was completed in 1554 and consists of two long houses built on top of a lake; it features two corner towers, a stair tower and several embrasures that were used to defend the castle.
Despite several reconstructions, and the castle now being a protected building, the basic structure of Egeskov Castle remains unchanged and the castle is one of the most impressive in Denmark, as well as one of the only remaining, authentic moated castles.
Rigborg Brockenhuus was interned at Egeskov from 1599 to 1616 after giving birth to an illegitimate son. Egeskov has been under ownership of the following families: Ulfeldt, Krag, Bille Brahe and, from 1883, Ahlefeldt-Laurvig-Bille who bequeathed it to a foundation. The banquet hall is now run by the foundation and used for concerts and other cultural events.
The park consists of a renaissance garden, baroque garden, English park, farmer´s garden and a contemporary garden. Special attractions include a maze, trimmed boxwood and a rose garden. Egeskov Classic Car Exhibition offers a variety of unique cars, motorbikes, airplanes and horse-drawn carriages. The museum was restored in 1987.
Click here to go to the website of Egeskov Castle